A kill switch is a function that can disconnect your computer, phone, or tablet automatically from the internet when your VPN connection is disconnected. This means there is no risk that if your VPN stops operating, your IP address and other sensitive information may be disclosed. Thus your Internet connection will not jeopardize its security and anonymity.
The kill switch functionality of VPNs is frequently enabled by default, but you may choose to disable it if you choose. If you disable it, even if the VPN is not connected, you can continue to use the Internet as usual. But if you activate it, if your VPN is disconnected, you cannot transfer any data via the internet connection.
How does a VPN kill switch work?
A VPN kill switch works by constantly monitoring your connection, detecting issues, blocking your access to the internet, and restoring your connection as soon as it’s safe.
Here’s a more detailed breakdown of how VPN kill switches work:
- Monitoring: A VPN kill switch continuously monitors your connection to your VPN server by scanning for changes in status or IP address.
- Detecting: The VPN kill switch will then instantly detect any changes that could prevent your VPN from working properly.
- Blocking: Depending on what type of VPN you’re using (more on that a bit further down), your VPN kill switch will either block certain apps or your entire device from accessing the internet.
- Restoring: As soon as the issue is resolved, your VPN kill switch will restore your internet connection without you having to do anything.
Who should use a VPN kill switch?
High-risk individuals like political activists, journalists, and cybersecurity professionals that use VPNs to hide their online activity should have a kill switch at the ready at all times. Anyone holding confidential documents who can’t afford to have their security compromised, such as lawyers or social workers handling incredibly sensitive data.
Any users who wish to remain anonymous.
Catch us next week & find out a list of VPNs with a kill switch.